21.00 H


Frédéric Kummer - Deux Duos de Concert pour Violon et Violoncelle, Op. 67
Duo No. 2: Introduction et Variations sur un thème suisse

Benjamin Godard - Aubade for Violin and Cello, Op.133
I. Andante quasi adagio
II. Andantino

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Duo for Violin and Viola in B-flat major, K. 424
(arrangement for Violin and Violoncello)
I. Adagio - Allegro
II. Andante cantabile
III. Thema (con Variazioni) - Andante grazioso

Jörg Widmann - 24 Duos for violin and cello
XIV. Capriccio
XV. Canto
XVI. Petit ballet mécanique (Pas de deux)
XVII. Choral
XVIII. Moderato un poco allegretto
XIX. Tanz ( mit Quinten und Sexten)
XX. Ängstlich, zögernd
XXI. Valse bavaroise
XXII. Lamento
XXIII. Deciso, con brio
XXIV. Toccatina all’inglese

Jean Sibelius – Duo in E minor, JS 68

Hannah Kandinsky, violin
Ana Šincek, violoncello


Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Obala kralja Tomislava 27, Sutivan

About composers

Benjamin-Louis-Paul Godard (1849-1895)
was a prominent French composer and violinist. During his youth, Godard showcased remarkable talent as a violinist and composer, composing a variety of works, including symphonies, chamber pieces, concertos, and captivating piano music. One of his best-known operas is "Jocelyn Widmann," which premiered in 1881. This opera gained lasting fame for its beautiful and emotive "Berceuse". Among his notable works are the operas "Pédro de Zalaméa" (1884), "La Vivandière" (1895), and "Symphonie Legendaire, Opus 100" (1886).

Friedrich August Kummer (1797–1879)
was a German cellist, pedagogue, and composer. Although initially trained as an oboist (his father was an oboist in the Dresden court chapel), Kummer's fascination with the violoncello led him to study under notable performers Friedrich Dotzauer and Bernhard Romberg. In 1814, due to the lack of cello vacancies, Kummer joined the Dresden chapel as an oboist. However, his skills as a cellist caught the attention of Carl Maria von Weber, who appointed him as a violoncellist at the Royal Opera House in the same year. Over time, Kummer gained acclaim as a performer, and in 1850, he succeeded Dotzauer as the principal violoncellist at the court chapel. Kummer's legacy also includes his comprehensive method, "Violoncelloschule für den ersten Unterricht," Op. 60, written in 1839. To this day, the method remains highly popular and cherished among cellists.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
was an immensely influential composer of the classical period. Born in Salzburg to a musical family, Mozart's extraordinary musical talent was evident from an early age. He displayed remarkable skills on the violin and keyboard and composed his first symphony at just eight years old. Recognised as a musical genius, Mozart diligently studied the works of other great composers like Haydn and Bach. His father, Leopold, a musician himself, recognised his son's talents and promoted Mozart's musical abilities. During his childhood, Mozart performed for distinguished guests at various palaces across Europe. Mozart's career took him to Vienna, where he became well-known and in demand as both a composer and performer. Despite his fame, he faced financial struggles due to his extravagant lifestyle. In the last year of his life, he composed the opera The Magic Flute, the final piano concerto (K. 595 in B-flat), the Clarinet Concerto K. 622, a string quintet (K. 614 in E-flat), the famous motet Ave Verum Corpus K. 618, and the unfinished Requiem K. 626. Tragically, Mozart died at the age of 35, leaving behind an immense musical legacy of over 600 compositions, including operas, symphonies, concertos, solo pieces for the piano, and chamber music.

Jean (Johan Julius Christian) Sibelius (1865–1977),
a Finnish composer, stands as Scandinavia's most celebrated symphonic composer. Sibelius's journey began with studies at the Finnish Normal School in Russian-held Finland, where he was introduced to Finnish literature and the epic Kalevala, a source of constant inspiration for him. This influence is evident in many of his symphonic poems, such as "Pohjola's Daughter" (1906) and "Luonnotar" (1913). Despite initially intending a legal career, he abandoned law studies in Helsinki to pursue music entirely. Initially aspiring to be a violinist, he studied under Martin Wegelius and composed numerous chamber and instrumental pieces. Sibelius's return to Finland after studying in Berlin and Vienna marked a turning point in his career. His Kullervo Symphony (1892) garnered significant attention, along with subsequent works like "En Saga" (1892), Karelia music, and the Four Legends, establishing him as Finland's leading composer. Recognition for his genius came in 1897, when the Finnish Senate granted him a small life pension before the publication of his Symphony No. 1 in E Minor (1899). His compositions in the 1890s showcased him as a nationalist composer in the Romantic tradition. During the early 20th century, Sibelius's fame spread across Europe. Conducted by Ferruccio Busoni, his Symphony No. 2 in D Major (1901) gained popularity in Berlin, and Granville Bantock commissioned Symphony No. 3 in C Major (1907). In this period, Sibelius transitioned away from the national romanticism of his earlier works to a more profound and uncompromising style, as seen in Symphony No. 4 in A Minor (1911). After World War I,
Sibelius published his greatest works, including the last three symphonies (No. 5 in E-flat
Major, No. 6 in D Minor, and No. 7 in C Major) and "Tapiola" (1925). However, he fell into a
prolonged creative silence in his later years, and rumours of an eighth or ninth symphony
were unfounded as no surviving manuscripts were found after his death. In the 1930s, there
was a surge of interest in Sibelius's music, thanks to the advocacy of writers like Cecil Grey,
Constant Lambert, and Olin Downes. Despite occasional shifts in musical taste, Sibelius
maintained a firm grip on the musical public. While his inspiration was closely tied to the
Scandinavian landscape, he is primarily remembered for his exceptional mastery of form in both symphonic poems and symphonies.

Jörg Widmann,
a German composer, conductor, and clarinettist, was born on June 19, 1973, in Munich. His musical journey began with clarinet lessons at an early age, and later, he honed his compositional skills under the tutelage of distinguished mentors such as Hans Werner Henze, Wilfried Hiller, Heiner Goebbels, and Wolfgang Rihm. Widmann's compositions traverse various musical genres, showcasing his innovation and creativity. Notably, his orchestral trilogy of Lied, Chor, and Messe explores the projection of vocal forms within instrumental ensembles. Widmann's early string quartets also deserve special mention, forming a captivating cycle of musical expression. Besides his remarkable achievements as a composer, Widmann has achieved significant success as a clarinet soloist, performing with eminent orchestras worldwide. His profound dedication to music has earned him prestigious awards, including the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and Art in 2018 and the Bach Prize of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg in 2023.